RSS

>> ONCE UPON A TIME IN THE WEST

17 Apr

I was introduced to Spaghetti Westerns by a friend of mine at university, who used to show up in my room (usually whilst I was trying to write an essay) and refuse to leave until I came down to his room and watched, say, The Good, the Bad and the Ugly.

In retrospect, it’s a miracle that either of us ever passed our degrees, especially because he also used to spend much of his time playing a “submarine simulator” and pretending that he was underwater in 1941. But he still got a first in PPE from Oxford, so there you go. They’re not all they’re cracked up to be.

All the same, I’m eternally grateful to him for introducing me to classic Westerns, and lately I’ve been listening again to Ennio Morricone’s soundtracks to the films of that era. I still believe that his theme to Once Upon a Time in the West is one of the most beautiful pieces of music ever recorded. It’s below:

 
1 Comment

Posted by on 17/04/2012 in Music, Other

 

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

One response to “>> ONCE UPON A TIME IN THE WEST

  1. danielwalldammit

    24/04/2012 at 8:05 am

    Great film.

     

Leave a Reply

 
