RSS

>> JOURNEY OF HOPE

25 Jan

My friend Sarah de Jong (check out her website here) has just released an album entitled Journey of Hope, and you really must listen to it. It’s wonderful, thought-provoking worship music; passionate and idiosyncratic, sounding to my ears a lot like the best of Misty Edwards.

Great arrangements, deep lyrics and Sarah’s excellent voice – listen to it below, or over at her website.

 

You can buy it from the site (via. bandcamp) for a mere £7.99, or, alternatively, via. itunes.

 
2 Comments

Posted by on 25/01/2012 in God, Music, Other

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

2 responses to “>> JOURNEY OF HOPE

  1. Jules Herklots

    08/02/2012 at 7:10 pm

    Hi Tom,
    What I heard of SDJ’s album (while walking round the Mummy exhibit at the British Museum), I quite liked, but I was definitely distracted by the aforementioned Mummies, so I really need to knuckle-down and give it my full attention.
    What I really wanted to say, was have you listened to Gungor’s latest offering, ghosts upon the earth, and if so, what do you think? Even without Mummies, I love it.
    Keep going with the celeriac. I like to mash it with spuds, 50/50, and serve it with lamb or beef, which I think its slightly floral, earthy flavour really compliments.
    I went to Ottolenghi’s the other day, and I hate to say it, but the food was amazing. Even the stark environment of the restaurant, and the ostentatiously loud proclamations from the opinionated, Guardian-reading, hedge-fund wives, couldn’t eclipse the sheer joy Anya and I got from our tasty scran.

     
  2. Tom

    08/02/2012 at 11:31 pm

    Hey Jules – thanks for your comments on this, it’s much appreciated.

    I have heard Gungor’s latest offering, and I loved it – actually, there’s a review on the blog here: https://foodmusicgod.wordpress.com/2011/09/24/ghosts-upon-the-earth-review/. I thought it was wonderfully creative and strange in a way that very few worship albums dare to be, which I appreciated.

    Thanks for your tips on celeriac; I’ll give it another shot with beef sometime soon, as that sounds like an excellent plan. I’m jealous that you’ve actually made it to Ottolenghi’s; I’d like to try it, but what with my nut allergy I’m slightly cautious. All the same, most of his food makes my mouth water from just looking through his cookbooks, so I’d love to see it prepared well. What did you eat?

     

Leave a Reply

 
