RSS

>> AWESOME CHICKEN WITH PEPPERS

29 Jul

Probably one of the easiest recipes I’ve ever come across, as promised by Nikki Segnit in her marvellous The Flavour Thesaurus, but when I cooked it for friends the other night it was so good that I swore I’d post it on here. I’m serious when I say it’s easy, though, and you have to trust that it works as well as I say it does.

You’ll need 6-8 red or yellow peppers, de-seeded and roughly chopped, and some chicken thighs – ideally with the skin on and the bone still in. Get yourself a medium-sized saucepan with a lid on, chuck the whole lot in on a medium heat and stir for 10 minutes to stop it sticking. After that the peppers start to release their juices, so put the lid on and you can leave it for another 30-40 minutes until you’ve got a whole load of sweet stock.

Considering it’s from two ingredients alone, it’s an amazingly delicious and complex sauce. Segnit doesn’t add anything to it, but I added a teaspoon of smoked paprika and some black pepper.

Serve with crusty bread, rice or couscous according to occasion, and some salad on the side (we had it with ciabatta) and eat with friends.

 
1 Comment

Posted by on 29/07/2011 in Food, Other

 

One response to “>> AWESOME CHICKEN WITH PEPPERS

  1. banbamama

    29/07/2011 at 9:40 pm

    I love this book too. She has so many good little recipes mixed in with lots of information. It has definitely widened my knowledge on food. I wrote a review of it, if you would like to read it. http://banbamama.wordpress.com/2011/05/19/food-for-thought/
    Glad your friends liked the recipe 🙂 You must have cooked it well.

     

Leave a Reply

 
