RSS

>> CHICKEN, CHORIZO AND CHICKPEAS

12 Jul

So, we’re established that News International is evil. Apparently the phone-hacking scandal also looks likely to spread through The Sun, The Sunday Times and The Times, and could entirely possibly bring down Rupert Murdoch once and for all, although probably not, given that I think you can find details of his activities in the book of Revelation (that’s a joke, by the way – this isn’t that kind of a blog).

I get it now. Really I do. I mean, in the past people always told me that it was the case, but I suppose I just thought that anyone who said so was a communist and so I avoided them. I’ve seen the light now.

I’d be sad if we lost The Times, though, because that would mean losing such giants as Caitlin Moran, Gilen Coren, David Aaronovich and Lindsey Bareham, which is who this recipe comes courtesy of.

It would also mean that I would no longer be able to buy the paper for 35p, which by the way I think is probably a ploy by Murdoch to inflitrate the minds of Oxford’s students with cheap news (crafty Murdoch), but may also be because the newsagents who sell it so cheaply are called Tim’s, and as you can see, “Tim’s” is only one letter different from “Times”. Who knows.

Anyway, this came from today’s edition of The Times and looks like the sort of rustic comfort food you’d eat in autumn, but works pretty well as a hearty lunch with a chunk of crusty bread. The original calls for chicken thighs and double the amount of chorizo that I’ve used, but I ended up just using what I had in the fridge.

1 large onion (approx 200g)

2 tbsp olive oil

1 clove garlic

250g small cooking chorizo

6 chicken thigh fillets

400g can chopped tomatoes

300-500ml chicken stock

1 lemon

400g can chickpeas or 500g small boiled potatoes (or both)

50g coriander

You probably need a decent, deep pan for this. Effectively, you slice your onion in half and then cut it into chunky slices horizontally, fry that on a medium heat for five minutes until it starts to wilt (but not brown, ideally), slice and add your clove of garlic and then after another minute, add the chorizo sausages whole. I didn’t have enough to do that so I cut it into slices, which worked for for me.

Then add your chicken, chopped up into chunks, brown it on each side and then add the chopped tomatoes and stock and season. Partially cover the pot, simmer for 15 minutes and then taste and add lemon juice (which reduces the metallic taste of the chopped tomatoes, incidentally). Make sure you don’t over-salt it, especially because your chorizo is pretty salty already. Then drain the chickpeas and add them to the pot.

Heat through, add extra stock if it seems dry, and then add the chopped coriander before serving.

Worked pretty well for me, although it won’t change the world. Tasty, hearty and filling, although I think I went a little low on stock – I suppose it depends whether you want something that feels more like a stew or more like a broth. It helps to buy good quality chorizo, too, as that contributes a lot to the smoky flavour.

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on 12/07/2011 in Food, Other

 

Leave a Reply

 
