RSS

>> CHORIZO

10 Jul

Oxford is rammed with Italian delicatessans. Seriously, once you started looking for them you realise that you can’t turn a corner in this city without bumping into somewhere that sells artisan bread and gourmet vinegar.

Which doesn’t explain why, rather than walking the approximately 100m from my house to the Cowley Italian delicatessan, I chose instead to buy my latest batch of chorizo from Oxford’s insanely expensive covered market.

(For the record, you should know that it is because the Cowley deli doesn’t put prices on its products, and I have an innate scepticism of any shop that refuses to do this, especially in Oxford. But that’s another story.)

Anyway, so my latest batch of chorizo comes from FastaPasta, which, as it turns out, sells Italian meats too. I’d gone in meaning to buy pasta, as you’d expect from a shop that calls itself “FastaPasta”. But chorizo is my weakness, my go-to food when I have no other ideas, and when I saw it I couldn’t resist.

So now I have 200g of top-quality chorizo to use, and no ideas on what to use it in. Any suggestions?

 
2 Comments

Posted by on 10/07/2011 in Food, Other

 

2 responses to “>> CHORIZO

  1. Stephen Gower

    10/07/2011 at 10:48 pm

    Don’t you need a Spanish deli for chorizo?

     
  2. Tom

    10/07/2011 at 10:49 pm

    That’s a good point. I don’t have an answer to that one.

    Why was I trying to buy chorizo in an Italian deli anyway?

     

Leave a Reply

 
